Well, hello there.

I’ve decided to start blogging. Again.

If you know me at all (which it’s entirely possible that you don’t, and that’s okay), you know that I’ve tried blogging about a dozen times. I waffled with the idea of cultivating an online presence in college. I did the LiveJournal thing in high school. I experimented with various writing blogs, all woefully abandoned over time. At one point, I blogged about living in Malaysia and got a fair number of hits because I linked to a particularly appetizing photograph of bacon. Overall, Present Me is relieved that Past Me has very little writing that can be found on the Internet.

Why start blogging now, and why will it stick?

Three reasons. First, I’m in my second (and final) year of my Master’s program in creative writing, meaning that I’m writing my thesis, which will be a book-length project. I need something to keep me accountable for putting words on the page. I’m a chronic procrastinator, and having a public forum to admit that I binge-watched an entire season of a TV show instead of writing will definitely push me in the right direction. Second, I’ve found the status/liminal state of being a “beginning writer” to be a largely depressing, thankless time, and it would be nice to foster a community. Third, I was once titled the Prince Henry (the Navigator) of the Internet because of the wide array of strange stuff I find on the internet. It is both a gift and a burden.

So really, I figure it’s a win-win for everybody. I entertain you, and you keep me accountable for getting stuff done. And I’ll probably do some “Nicole thinks about things” posts, which may sound intelligent/world-weary, or may just come off as the complaints of someone allergic to tree pollen. And as I am temporarily residing in upstate New York, there are lots of trees. But that’s another story entirely.

tl;dr:

Planned Blogging Schedule:

Tuesdays: Thoughts & Musings

Fridays: Word Counts & Fun Things I Found on the Internet. (I’m sure the balance for this will vary over time, depending on how much work I did [or didn’t] get accomplished during the week.)

The Art of Falling?

I can’t help it. Every time I’ve gone to blog, it’s been the title I come back to. Imagine a cloud community where a bearded man in sandals and goggles teaches children how to sky dive. Or a woman hanging onto a holly bush after the world turns upside down. Or a lesson for astronauts on a faraway planet. I’m not picky. Use your imagination.

Who are you, anyway?

My name is Nicole. I’m a grad student and writer. I tweet. I have a professional website, if you’re into that sort of thing. I’m writing a rock opera about Ellie Goulding’s Lights album but her creative team isn’t thrilled. I like birds and old barns. I’ve traveled some and have fun stories about near-death experiences. I’m interested in pop culture but I’m not weird about it. I like to think I’m one of the few people who can write about the bizarre dreams I’ve had without sounding terribly self-indulgent. We should get along fine.

See you Tuesday.

2 thoughts on “Well, hello there.

  1. Well, Nicole, I am very glad that you are blogging again. I enjoy your writing style and I get the feeling that I will enjoy reading future posts of yours as well! I’m new to this blogging thing. I’m a photographer, an artist, and when I was younger I was a writer. I’m a little rusty, but I’m hoping that by starting this new blog and following writers like you, I will definitely improve my craft! Thanks for your post. I sincerely look forward to your next one.

Leave a Reply

